Scholarship and Leadership Program Niswonger Foundation Board Update Thursday, November 11, 2021

Leadership Development

- *Winter Training* will be Monday and Tuesday, December 20 and 21 at the Niswonger Foundation Learning Center.
- We invite our Board Members to join us for all or part of our training activities.
- Opportunities for informal time with the Scholars will be a casual dinner and holiday party on Monday evening, December 20; and breakfast on Tuesday, December 21, at 8:30 a.m. at the Niswonger Foundation.
- The students are completing a series of leadership assessments based on a theme of *"What Got You Here Won't Get You There."* The discussion will center around how successful people become even more successful by defining their habits that hold them back from being the best leader possible.
- The agenda for the 2021 Winter Leadership Institute is attached to this report.

Scholar Updates

- The calendar for 2022 Scholar activities is included as an attachment.
- Scholar News is included as an attachment.

Alumni Scholar Updates

- Alumni Scholar News is included as an attachment.
- A holiday party is being planned for Saturday, December 18, 5:00 p.m., Niswonger Foundation.

Handouts

• Scholar and Local Alumni Contact Information

<u>Attachment 1</u>

Niswonger Scholars Winter Leadership Institute December 20-21, 2021

AGENDA

Monday, December 20

- 12:30 1:00 p.m. All Scholars Arrive and Check in the General Morgan Inn
- 1:30 p.m. 5:30 Session I of Leadership Institute (Niswonger Foundation)
- 6:30 p.m. Dinner and Fun
- 8:30 p.m. Free Time 😊

Tuesday, December 21

- 8:30 a.m. Breakfast (Niswonger Foundation)
- 9:00 a.m. 1:00 Session II of Leadership Institute

ALUMNI UPDATES

Chris Brown (Class of 2010) was promoted to Dean of Students at Red Bank High School, in Chattanooga. He completed his Masters in Educational Leadership with Administrative License, at Carson Newman University.

Patrick Brown (Class of 2010) was promoted to President of Ross/Fowler Landscaping, in Knoxville.

Will Brummett (Class of 2013) completed the e-Co Leadership Coaching Certification (e-CLC) in the Center for Excellence in Public Leadership at George Washington University.

Dr. Jessica Burchette (Class of 2006) received ETSU's Faculty Teaching Award by peer nomination for 2020-2021.

James Durham (Class of 2013) is attending California State University as a fulltime student working towards a Physician Assistant Masters degree. He continues to work weekends at Forward Air.

Lorraine Hayes (Class of 2021) has accepted a position as a Paralegal at Arnold and Porter Kaye Scholer in their New York City office. She will begin her studies at Boston College Law School in Fall 2022.

Taylor Grindstaff (Class of 2012) accepted the position of College, Career, & Counseling Coordinator for the Jefferson County school district. She graduated from Austin-Peay University with an additional Master of Arts in Educational Leadership and earned her Administrator's license.

Emily Hollingsworth (Class of 2011) was promoted to Corporate Marketing Project Manager, at Clayton Homes.

Dustin Howser (Class of 2017) accepted a position with Eastman Chemical as a Tech Service Rep, in the specialty plastics division. He was married to Savannah Burt, in late October.

Kayla Williams Meher (Class of 2013) was promoted to the Department of Clinical Leadership for the Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services. Her title is now Tennessee Hospital Based MAT Clinical Specialist. She was married to Chris Meher, in early October.

Rian Rainey (Class of 2010) accepted a position as Engineering Manager with BetterUp.

Dr. Cole Seaton (Class of 2009) is a radiologist with Blue Ridge Radiology. He was named Medical Director of Radiology at Greeneville Community Hospital.

Todd Skelton (Class of 2010) was appointed by Governor Bill Lee as Chair of the Governor's Juvenile Justice Reform Implementation Council.

<u>Attachment 3</u>

NISWONGER SCHOLAR NEWS

Derek Driskill (Carson Newman University, Sophomore) was nominated homecoming representative for his class at Carson Newman.

Alexis Harvey (Tennessee Technology University, Senior) has been accepted to her online Electrical Engineering masters at Purdue University and will begin classes in January. She has accepted a full time Electrical Engineering position at Eastman Chemical and will begin work in January. She will graduate Magna Cum Laude, in December with a Bachelors in Electrical Engineering and a minor in mathematics. She was named president of Tau Beta Pi for the remainder of the year. She has accepted a position as a Collegiate Leadership Institute leader for a one-year term with the national organization of Society of Women Engineers (SWE).

Jasmine Martin (University of Tennesseee, Senior) is serving the Progressive Student Alliance (PSA) and Students for Migrant Justice organizations on her UT campus. She was inducted into the Lambda Pi Eta honors society for Communication Studies.

Macy Noe (Vanderbilt University, Sophomore) was selected as a Teaching Assistant in the Department of Engineering Management at Vanderbilt.

Aubrie Strange (Stamford University, Senior) presented her senior thesis research, in October at the SoCon Undergraduate Research Forum at Wofford College, in Spartanburg, South Carolina.

Rithvik Vutukuri (Tulane Universit, Senior) entered the Masters Program in Neuroscience at Tulane. He received the Neuroscience Faculty and 4.0 awards during graduation. He has been nominated to be a member of Tulane's Circle of the Omicron Delta Kappa Honor Society. Thirty-four students are chosen each year, and they serve as an advisory board to the Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs. He joined Dr. Joshua Denson's lab at the Tulane School of Medicine to do research on patients in the ICU with acute respiratory distress syndrome. He has accepted the position of President of the Minority Association of Premedical Students.